Orcyx and BridgeMind (bridgemind.ai) both put AI coding agents on your desktop, and both run the coding CLIs you already pay for - Claude Code, Codex, Gemini - on your own provider accounts, with more than one account per provider. The difference is who they are built for and what stands between an agent and your main branch. BridgeMind is an "Agent Super App" for the vibe-coding movement: named agents on routines, terminal workspaces, coding threads you read instead of watch, and a hosted voice teammate under one plan. Orcyx is a local-first agentic development environment for senior engineers: review-gated swarm orchestration with an auditor seat, accounts bound per pane with automatic failover when one hits its rate limit, a safety sandbox with auditing, and a live Unity/Unreal engine bridge.
| CAPABILITY | ORCYX | BRIDGEMIND |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Senior engineers running governed agent teams | The vibe-coding movement - describe software in plain language, agents ship it |
| Pricing model | Commercial plans on the pricing page; a paid plan opens the desktop, and your own provider keys carry no markup | Pro: $50/month or $480/year with 12,500 credits/month; unused credits do not roll over; Pro is the only plan and is required to open the app (as of 2026-09-22) |
| Model access | Your own CLIs and keys (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, custom endpoints), mixed per swarm seat | Your own CLIs on PATH (Claude Code, Codex, Cursor Agent, Gemini CLI, Copilot, Grok Build) - "those CLIs bill through the builder's own accounts. Pro covers the app." (bridgemind.ai) |
| Provider accounts | Several accounts per provider, each bound to a pane - two Claude subscriptions run side by side; secrets live in the OS keychain, only a reference is saved | Several too: multiple Codex accounts with workspace or agent backups, separate Claude Code sign-ins on macOS, a default account, and a confirmed context handoff when an existing conversation switches account (release notes v0.1.38-v0.1.50). Whether accounts are bound per pane is not stated |
| Rate-limit relief | Automatic failover to your other account on a 429 or weekly cap, named in the pane; a pane can be moved onto API-key billing on demand; opt-in Squeeze proxy trims long tool outputs before they leave the machine | When a Codex account reaches its limit, a confirmed context handoff to a backup account; on macOS, v0.1.50 replaced automatic Codex backup switching with a choice to wait or pick another account. Claude Code failover is not stated in the sources reviewed |
| What credits meter | Nothing - Orcyx runs no hosted features today, so there is no credit balance. CLI turns, swarm runs and local dictation are never metered | In-app hosted features only - "including voice orchestration and cloud voice to text"; on-device transcription and your own Claude, Codex or Grok usage do not use credits |
| Usage visibility | Per-account plan-usage windows for Claude and Codex, per-pane model, token and cost counters; an unsupported provider says so instead of showing a bar | 5-hour and weekly Claude Code and Codex plan limits with reset times in the title bar, context fill in each pane header, and usage history across every connected account (v0.1.66-v0.1.67) |
| Platforms | Windows installer, unsigned until code signing lands; macOS and Linux coming soon (pre-1.0) | Native on macOS 14+, Windows 10/11 and Linux x86_64; signed Linux packages were still release candidates at v0.1.66 |
| Terminal workspaces | Recursive split grid, one PTY per pane, no fixed cap | Code mode: real terminals over your folders; up to six threads side by side on macOS (v0.1.63). The earlier BridgeSpace line advertised 16 terminals; the current app's cap is not stated |
| Task dispatch | ✓ - the swarm director splits missions into cards and dispatches seats | Tasks with statuses and assignments; explicitly executing one creates a dedicated workspace, runs the assigned agent, requests review and saves the result, with Stop and Resume |
| Merge governance | Auditor review gate - every finished card scanned for secrets and unsafe code and reviewed by an auditor seat; the merge decision is yours | Per-action approvals (a fresh approval for each write or execution call on connected services), reviewed Plan-to-Agent workflows, and a changes panel in Thread mode. An auditor seat or a secrets and unsafe-code scan over finished work is not stated in the sources reviewed |
| Safety sandbox & audit | ✓ - FS sandbox, prompt-injection screening, env allowlist, redacted audit log | Read-only and Plan restrictions stay enforced, and credential-shaped text is redacted in tool results and handoffs (v0.1.47, v0.1.49). A filesystem sandbox or prompt-injection screening is not stated in the sources reviewed |
| Agent memory | Local markdown knowledge graph - greppable, git-able, on your disk | Opt-in local Bridge memory (builder facts, notes, call journals) that agents can read; BridgeMind describes itself as "not a memory product" |
| MCP | Built-in MCP server with per-tool access control + managed external servers | BridgeMCP, a separate MCP server product, plus revocable agent MCP connections for Tasks and plugin connections with per-call approval |
| Voice | Voice dictation into any pane, PII-redacted before send | BridgeVoice: local and cloud voice-to-text, included in Pro; on-device transcription and "Hey Bridge" need macOS 26 |
| Scheduled agents | Cron scheduler, file-system watchers, lifecycle hooks, record-and-replay macros | Named agents on routines |
| Game-engine bridge | ✓ - agents drive live Unity & Unreal editors with staged apply/rollback | Not stated for Unity or Unreal in the sources reviewed (a Blender connection is listed, v0.1.48) |
BridgeMind (bridgemind.ai) is an "Agent Super App" for what it calls the vibe-coding movement: describe software in plain language and agents ship it. One native window holds three modes - Agent (named agents on routines), Code (vibe coding in real terminals over your folders) and Thread (coding conversations you read, with approvals inline and a changes panel) - plus Tasks, a browser and Files sidebar, SSH workspaces, phone pairing and BridgeVoice; its product list also names BridgeSwarm multi-agent teams and BridgeMCP. It succeeds the earlier BridgeSpace line and says it is "not an ADE, not a memory product". There is one Pro plan - $50 a month or $480 a year with 12,500 monthly credits and a 7-day money-back guarantee, as of 2026-09-22. The coding CLIs themselves - Claude Code, Codex, Cursor Agent, Gemini CLI, Copilot and Grok Build on your PATH - run on your own provider accounts; in BridgeMind's words, "those CLIs bill through the builder's own accounts. Pro covers the app." Credits pay for metered in-app features "including voice orchestration and cloud voice to text"; on-device transcription and your own provider usage do not use credits. It runs natively on macOS, Windows, and Linux, and its community is a core part of the product.
Orcyx is a local-first agentic development environment for senior engineers, shipped as one desktop binary. Orcyx pairs multi-pane terminals, a terminal-linked IDE, and an embedded browser with a markdown knowledge graph served over MCP, then adds review-gated swarm orchestration, trigger-based automation, a live Unity/Unreal engine bridge, and a platform layer with a safety sandbox, redacted audit logging, and dev containers. You bring your own CLIs and provider keys - as many accounts per provider as you hold, each bound to a pane - and Orcyx adds no markup on them and meters nothing on top.
BridgeMind is the better fit when you want a hosted realtime voice teammate and cloud dictation bundled into one plan's monthly credits, named agents running routines you review later, a native Mac or Linux build today, or when the vibe-coding community and its shared workflows are part of the appeal. One subscription, credits included, seven-day guarantee - that simplicity is real, and for many solo builders it is the right trade.
Orcyx is the better fit when one subscription's rate limit is your bottleneck and you want it handled without a prompt: hold two Claude or Codex accounts, bind them to different panes, and let a pane fail over to the other account when one hits a 429 or its weekly cap - with the switch named in the pane, never hidden. BridgeMind also manages several accounts, but as of v0.1.50 its Codex flow asks you to wait or pick another account. It is also the better fit when agent output needs a review gate rather than direct trust, or when your data must stay on your machine: Orcyx's knowledge graph is plain markdown on your disk, provider secrets live in the OS keychain with only a reference on disk, and every agent action lands in a redacted audit log. No credit meter throttles a swarm on Orcyx - the director and every seat are your own CLIs, so a long run spends your provider quota and nothing else. And if your project is a game, Orcyx agents operate live Unity and Unreal editors - a capability we found no sign of in BridgeMind's documentation or release notes.
Yes. Orcyx is a BridgeMind alternative for engineers who run the same coding CLIs on their own provider accounts and want governance around them: Orcyx binds accounts per pane, fails over between them automatically on rate limits, gates agent merges behind an auditor, and keeps everything local-first on your machine.
Both use the same shape: a paid plan opens the desktop, and the coding CLIs bill through your own provider accounts. BridgeMind Pro is its only plan: $50 a month or $480 a year with 12,500 monthly credits that do not roll over, as of 2026-09-22. Orcyx sells commercial plans (see the Orcyx pricing page); your own keys carry no markup, and Orcyx meters nothing - no credits, never a CLI turn or a swarm run.
Governance and orchestration versus a consumer-friendly bundle. BridgeMind supports several provider accounts too, and folds named agents on routines, terminal workspaces, readable coding threads and a hosted voice teammate into one plan for vibe coders. Orcyx assumes a senior engineer who wants accounts bound per pane with automatic failover, an auditor reviewing and scanning every agent’s finished work, and a sandbox plus redacted audit trail around every agent action.
Partly. BridgeMind lists BridgeSwarm (multi-agent teams), BridgeMCP (a separate MCP server product) and BridgeVoice, and keeps opt-in local memory notes, but calls itself 'not a memory product'. On the Orcyx side, swarms run a coordinator–router–builder topology with a review gate and per-pane cost tracking; Orcyx memory is a local markdown knowledge graph any MCP client can read; and Orcyx voice transcripts are PII-redacted on your machine before anything is sent.
ALSO COMPARING: ORCYX VS ORCA (ONORCA.DEV) →